Posted by: ryanpmcbride | May 28, 2009

Finally!

I’m finally in DC, and good grief is it humid.  I am not used to this.

I have an amazing place to stay (thanks Trevor), had a great dinner with my old boss last night, former Congressman Jon Porter, saw friends from Pepperdine and I’ve gone to visit my new office.  I cannot believe how well things are coming together.  From Vegas, to Malibu, to Vegas, to DC…I live a rough life.

Just for the record, the Honorable Jon Porter is one of the greatest, most down-to-earth people I have ever met, and I had the good fortune and honor to work for him for a few years.    (No, I’m not just trying to butter him up for a job after I graduate in April…but I mean, if he wants to give me a job, I won’t complain).  He brought a rare humility that I don’t think you see enough in elected officials these days.  I can’t say enough good things about the guy.

Anyhow, I went down to the Capitol today to say hi to Senator Ensign’s office and had lunch with Heather and some of the other interns from the good Senator’s office.  I’ve got a few days before I start so I am just hanging out and getting used to the place again.

It’s actually a pretty nice day out here, see:

The United States Capitol

The United States Capitol

Oh, and then there’s this place.  Should be pretty exciting in the next couple of weeks, that’s for sure…

The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court

Man, I love it here.


Responses

  1. Say “hi” to 2007 alum Brian Chatwin in Senator Ensign’s office. We’ll all get together on the 16th when I come into town. Don’t forget to RSVP.


Leave a comment

Categories